Ciatti New Zealand

New Zealand produces wine in cool climate, maritime regions on its South Pacific Ocean Island country. Such as other New World wines, New Zealand usually produces single varietal wines, and if it is a blend, varietal components will be outlined on the label. Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, and concentrated Pinot Noir from Marlborough, Martinborough and Central Otago are what New Zealand is famous for.

Although wine has been produced in New Zealand since the beginning of the 19th century, the industry of modern wine started in New Zealand during the mid-20th century. It then expanded rapidly during the early stages of the 21st century, while averaging 17% per annum within the fist 20 years. New Zealand produced 285 million liters in 2017, by way of 91,750 vineyard acres. 3/4 of this is purely due to Sauvignon Blanc wine making. Roughly 90% of wine is exported within the United States, out to Britain and Australia. This equates to the record of NZ$1.66 billion in 2017 export revenue. Each year New Zealanders consume on average of 20 liters of wine per person.  This is just 1/3 of what is imported from other countries such as Australia.

For further details regarding our New Zealand vineyards and wineries please contact Ciatti Australia:

Phone: 61.8.8361.9600


Fax: 61.8.8267.1233

New Zealands wine producing regions are located in alluvial valleys, with the deposits being local sandstone known as greywacke. Greywacke is what the mountainous spine of New Zealand mostly consists of. New Zealand has a maritime climate which means the moderating sea produces milder winters and colder summers than latitude similarities throughout North America and Europe. These climates show such variety when it comes to cold flashes at any time of the year, and warm spots in winter time periods. New Zealand’s wine regions usually have cooler nights even in the hotter months. Grapes high in acidity is the direct reflection of consistent cool nights produced in this one-of-a-kind climate.

The Wine Regions of New Zealand

  • Auckland & Northland
  • Waikato & Bay of Plenty
  • Gisborne
  • Hawke’s Bay
  • Wairarapa
  • Marlborough
  • Nelson & Tasman
  • Canterbury (incl. Waipara)
  • Central Otago
  • +More